I’m Exhausted

Posted on December 5, 2011

0


I’d like to write something more interesting right now, but I’m completely exhausted. Abby has been fussing for the last few hours, only breaking for a little while to feed, and it’s just sapped me.

Before Abby was born I was sure I’d be able to handle the crying. Crying babies never really bothered me. I mean I would prefer they not, but babies cry. You can try to help them, but you can’t always tell what’s wrong and sometimes there’s nothing you can do to help. Sometimes they just cry as a way to vent and you shouldn’t even try to help. I mean you shouldn’t leave them alone to cry, but if you give them some love and attention and they still cry then they may just need to get it out. At least this is my working assumption. I really have no idea what I’m talking about.

So before she was born I would hear a baby cry and it just sounded natural to me. It didn’t bother me that much. It still doesn’t bother me that much, but over the course of the last 7 weeks I’ve just heard so much crying that it’s worn me down. I still have a lot of patience with it, but if she starts fussing and needs constant attention for hours at a time, especially in the evening, my patience evaporates.

Luckily I’m not trying to raise her by myself. My wife is in her room right now, giving her the necessary attention to keep her calm and hopefully get her to sleep soon. Frankly I don’t know how single parents do it. It would require a herculean effort that I doubt I could deliver.

I’m exhausted. That’s all I’ve got for now.

Posted in: Parenting