The Joy of Programming

Posted on December 15, 2011

0


Not to harp on how great it is to be able to spend my day building software (Programmer – The Best Profession?), but I’m deep in to two projects right now and I can barely make time to feed myself and sleep (let alone spend time with my newborn daughter).

I’m not entirely sure whether an artist feels like they are solving a puzzle, but I wouldn’t be surprised if they did. If they don’t then I’d say that my day right now feels like a cross between and inspired artist and someone that is having fun solving sudoku puzzles. Programming doesn’t always feel this way, but it does very often. You feel like you’re creating something that no one has seen before (that’s where the artist side comes in), but you’re using tools that are complex, requiring you to solve a puzzle in order to bring your creation to life.

It is honestly one of the most enjoyable ways for me to spend my time. I feel productive, I can be creative, I feel like I’m solving a puzzle, etc.

Basically I spend most of my time in flow, that state of mind where time passes without you realizing it, where you don’t even notice how hungry or tired you are.

It’s like you get to be the architect of a city but you get to construct or destroy things with just a wave of your hand. You can experiment easily and once you have it right you have something of permanent value.

I’m only harping on this to encourage people to learn how to program. It really is an enabling skill, allowing you to take any number of ideas and turn them in to a reality. I really can’t recommend it enough.

 

Posted in: Technology