A Co-Op Experience

Posted on December 16, 2011

0


Interesting article about a parent dealing with educating their kindergardener through a parent co-op.

The Pre-K Underground

I don’t have any issues with this approach. Generally speaking I’m not very enthusiastic about what most traditional schools have to offer, so an environment that provides greater flexibility could be a very good thing.

But parents shouldn’t have to make such decisions. As a society we benefit so much by a great education (I don’t think we’re providing that at all right now) that it should be a primary concern. Of course it isn’t because it’s generally an externality, but it should be.

I do think that the more these situations occur, the more painful it becomes to educate our children, the less people will see education as an externality and we may see some real change, but I hate to wish these circumstances on anyone.

Posted in: Education, General